Skip to content

Memoirs of a trader

October 2, 2008

This is World at 2022. And this is no science fiction.There will be no gadgets and humanoids in this story. No villains with powers extraordinaire. No heroes with bulging muscles fighting to save the world. In my world, only a few good men remain.
The others? The others were wiped away in the tremors felt in the first decade of this century.

Welome to today. A world where there is no one superpower. US is no more the economic hub of this world. Sometime around 2010, all Asian countries steadily but stealthily started buying gold and offloading dollar.  Made my first billion there. Its funny sometimes, you know. I dont know from where that billiom came from. Japan? China? From the pockets of some fool in Europe? Somebody who still wanted dollar hegemony. Who cared?

I bought gold. Went long. Lock,stock and barrel. By the end of 2013, gold surged by more than 1400%. I was cool. Traders frantically, were looking to get into trade. I am not one of them.I am a person who circles around an opportunity for months and years at end. Watching to grow and become full. Only to jump at it when the time is ripe. My friends called me Shark. I dont know why they called me that, but I guess it has got something to do wth the way, I hunt. I was waiting for time to start since the end of 2008. But I digress.

Asian markets fuelled the great gold ride. I was one of them. But what was to follow, will be a far higher test of personal character than what we have seen before. Not even the Great Depression, no, not the bear hug of ’88, not even the Sub Prime Crisis! That was a tremor, an earthquake, few have imagined it. But in this the sacrifice  was of economies with weak fiscal policy. And that blood will nourish the emerging economies, African economies, BRIC country esp basically the rest of the world.

I knew, this was going to create a havoc, worldwide. A small cartel of traders were bracing up for this battle. This final battle and I was a part of it. It was a game of poker, with hands of DOUBLE or QUITS! We decided that the date it starts will be decided at the last hour. We were all part of the clique and I personally knew some of them. All were Sharks. All were BIG Sharks.

The message came, almost taking us by surprise. Some said it was too soon.But I knew only those will succeed in this who believe in shock and awe. We shorted dollar. We shorted as if there is no tomorrow. We shorted, left, right and center.Gold rush had already weakened the dollar. Now we were going to break it. At the end of 17th September 2015, we shorted not less than 30 trillion of greenback.

Asian policymakers suddenly thanked themselves for buying gold. Among other countries, India and China led the pack. Gold, the instrument they bought, surged by more than 47,300% by the end of 2015. Dollar was broken. Asians had power finally. And we were multi billionaires, trillionaires. I took my share and ran. A whopping personal wealth of 300 billion dollars!

In hindsight, it feels like perhaps it all started in 2007, when I started thinking. Ahh! it was Sub Prime Crisis. The beginning of it all!

Today media exalts me for my wealth, but at the end of it, what remains with a man is his story. I had many a one. Interesting ones, I am sure. Stories of moving with financial hunters and warriors. Incredible insights.

 I am sure,they will capture anybody’s imagination.Media often asks me about it. But those will stay with me. Forever.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2008 1:08 pm

    Check out this article -“The Real Great Depression”

    http://chronicle.com/temp/reprint.php?id=477k3d8mh2wmtpc4b6h07p4hy9z83x18

    It compares today with the depression of 1870s…

  2. Paulraj Madasamy permalink
    October 3, 2008 5:06 pm

    seriously..
    a BIG lol for this one 😀 !!!

  3. Soham Das permalink*
    October 3, 2008 8:04 pm

    @bonchi Let me have a look, at that… will come back to you

    @Paul: Seriously, you are kidding 😉 !!!

    At both, this might be a flight of fancy but the underlying symptoms are in place. Dollar has gone really weak,fundamentally.

  4. Soham Das permalink*
    October 3, 2008 8:13 pm

    Absolutely beautiful article

  5. Paulraj Madasamy permalink
    October 4, 2008 11:51 am

    no offense to the blog post or the writer man… 😛 .. was a fun read.. 😀
    ..
    yup.. the chronicle article was awesome ! 🙂

  6. Soham Das permalink*
    October 4, 2008 9:19 pm

    Heyy… no hard feelings either…. dont take my comments [ when they come with smileys] any more seriously than I intend them to be 🙂 ….

Leave a Reply

