Skip to content

Whats Cooking?

April 22, 2010

My Twitter followers as well as my blog readers are certainly curious about the prolonged “radio silence”, I have maintained over the recent past. I would like to believe, I am popular, by the concerned offline chats. Well,joking on both , me not yet a Christiano Ronaldo,at least not till I go to sleep.

But, yes there had been some questions of “what are you upto” kind of on my emails.

To be frank,I had been extremely caught up in my assignments. Trust me, for the last one month, starting around first week of March, I had been busy coding the backengine of a simple app.It is simple, and that is why I thought, it,wont take much time; but well, lack of C# experience and SQLite messed it up.

Secondly, had been really busy with the other end of my existence. Trading. And this time, I had been busy, growing this algo-prop trading business of mine. I am glad to inform, I am satisfied with the last months performance(yes, thats too small a time horizon to even consider). More importantly, my AUM(assets under management- the net worth of the fund, how much capital is invested in it)is also steadily growing.

And lastly, I am extremely caught up in properly furnishing/reinnovating my home/flat in North Kolkata. So much so, that,Β  I had to run to the other end of the city, to get hold of fans and ACs(this heat is killing me).

So, overall,I was pretty busy in my own work, coupled with the 10am -11.30 pm schedule of commodity trading.

For much time, there was demand from me, to post some systems. And my words of “yes-will-do” were at best deceptive. Partly because, that coding assignment of mine took much longer than I expected. Hopefully,with the bulk of the work done, you can expect some good stuff.To keep you properly pepped up, I am thinking of adopting a better software for backtesting(WealthLabs, NinjaTrader etc) Amibroker is good, but it has left me a bit dissatisfied. The lack of proper coding environment is tough on folks like me. I want a trace point debugger or step execution. Who knows, I might still stick of Amibroker, for that matter.

Lets see.

Soham

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2010 11:55 pm

    Good 2 know u r performing better. You can share your stock tips with others at Moneyvidya and launch a good analyst career.

  2. Soham Das permalink*
    April 27, 2010 3:01 am

    Thanks Sunny, for the advice. I appreciate it, but truth be said,traders and analysts are opposite part of the spectrum (and they both often despise each other). While one focusses on being right(analysts), the other on making money πŸ™‚

    But yes, I would consider, when I have lesser important things on my hand πŸ˜‰

    Soham

Leave a Reply

