Skip to content

Courage,Pain and Glory

July 10, 2010

In this part of the world, there is a legend,a centuries old legend. They say, the molluscs fished out of the seas at the highest tide on the new moon night at the peak of the monsoons have the whitest shells.

I dont know. But this legend drove scores of Bengali men for centuries to venture out in the darkest of nights, braving the perfect of the torrential storms for netting those famed molluscs. If you had ever an experience of seas,you can think of the vision I can imagine of. Seas are unruly creatures. During monsoons, the seas acquire a beastly quality of their own. And, ah! the beauty.

The sea swells just like the breathing bosom of the most beautiful woman sleeping, dreaming her own dreams. The darkness of the new moon night with only the rains to keep you for company, breaks many a men.Bay of Bengal has a nasty habit of giving birth to many a cyclone, many whirlpools during monsoons.But for centuries, those conchshells were a symbol of valour, courage and glory. And men, went out and went for fishing those molluscs.

Women ,when their men used to return bringing with them those milky white shells, used to flaunt the bangles cut out of those shells as a mark of their men’s love for them.

Courage,Pain and Fear- are the trio which can drive a man to feel proud of himself. Pain, we are hardwired to feel that, fear is the precursor of agony, but courage is the grandest emotion of all. It spurs us to surpass our limitations and go beyond them.

I am sure, you had a very interesting life. Full of ups and downs and a life well lived. But there will be times, when you will feel particularly proud of yourself. And no, buying material things like a new Rolex, or a LearJet cant take the place of that pride. You might feel satisfied, but not proud. Pride comes when we realize that we came face to face with our limits and went beyond them.

In the past month, I found myself losing focus. Losing the precisionary focus to achieve things grander than yourself. And I realized, I have stopped chasing my limits,chasing my fears. Instead, I have let my fears do the talking.

And the realization of it, has hit me like a diamond bullet straight in my forehead. I am going to build this up again, inch by inch, yard by fuckin yard.

As I do this, I intend to build an ecosystem of the most confident, passionate,ambitious folks around me.

Are you up for it?

Leave a comment, if your views resonate with mine. Leave even if it doesnt

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2010 7:26 am

    “I have stopped chasing my limits,chasing my fears. Instead, I have let my fears do the talking”

    “And the realization of it, has hit me like a diamond bullet straight in my forehead. I am going to build this up again, inch by inch, yard by fuckin yard”

    Sums up what I have faced in my personal life 🙂

    And btw great to see you post about your personal struggles and wish you all the best!

  2. July 11, 2010 3:15 pm

    You can count me in. I want to fully participate in the effort of building the ecosystem.

  3. July 11, 2010 4:06 pm

    Thats a great news, Dhananjay.

    We can start our ecosystem with two, and push each other for the great things in life together. If we are able to contribute value to ourselves, surely we will attract similar people.

    Soham

  4. July 12, 2010 1:02 am

    We have three more folks joining us in:

    > Prashanth and
    >Narasimha
    >Deepak Shenoy
    > Siddharth Ranaware
    Will be filling in the details, very soon

Leave a Reply

